First Day of Class

So today I start my spring 2015 term.  It’s pouring down rain outside, just like it usually does in a Mississippi January.  Not sure what I’m going to wear now with the weather like this.  But I will figure something out.

I teach this semester at 8 and 9:30 a.m. I’ve found the earlier in the morning the class is, the more motivated the students are.  They’re not necessarily awake, but they are motivated to work an do well.  I have low class enrollment in my 8 a.m. class, and I hope it stays that way.  I’d like to try teaching a smaller group and see if I can do things differently.

I’m still a little on the manic side,.  My children and I were having a silly discussion last night, and one said something that tickled me so hard that I started laughing and couldn’t stop.  We were discussing the physics of a thrown plastic glass of water, whether the water would leave the glass and hit the person first, etc.  I asked my daughter if she had any ‘experiential” knowledge of this, or was it purely theoretical?  She gave me the funniest look and I got tickled.  I laughed until I cried. For me, that’s a sign of mania.  So we will see what happens this morning.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 4gazpacho
    Jan 12, 2015 @ 14:56:13

    I hope your day is going well.

    Like

    Reply

  2. jdlwhitehead
    Jan 12, 2015 @ 18:46:12

    Everything has gone very well so far. I had them write introductory papers so I can see what their capabilities are, and I started associating names with faces, so that is a good sign. I also learned how to use a smartboard today! So it’s been successful so far.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. 4gazpacho
    Jan 13, 2015 @ 13:56:39

    What’s a smartboard?

    Like

    Reply

  4. jdlwhitehead
    Jan 13, 2015 @ 16:46:16

    It’s a computerized “chalkboard” is what it is basically. You write on it with electrical pens and can send files to the computer from it, etc. I will just have to get used to it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. mrsshya
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 02:32:59

    When I go in to the office on rainy days, I wear socks and sneakers and change shoes at my desk. Sometimes I wear jeans and change in the restroom. I also put a towel over my jacket, to protect my back from getting wet even though I carry an umbrella. I throw all of this into a gym bag. If it’s raining when I get off work, I put it all on again. When i am manic i tend to have boundary issues with others, strangers even. Does this concern you? I hope your class goes well tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. 4gazpacho
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 08:48:42

    Mrs Shya, I imagine boundary issues for us with bipolar or any other type of “mental illness” would be a complicated issue, wouldn’t it? I grew up with a mom whose moods shifted frequently, and boundaries were unstable. It was a horrible way to grow up.

    Like

    Reply

  7. mrsshya
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 02:37:58

    Yes very complex.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

