Writing Well

I wrote a bit this morning in answer to a call about disability, medical issues, etc. for a online journal called District Lit.  I wrote about my experiences with self-injury.  We could only do 800 words so I pulled a bit I had done on it in my manuscript and extended it a little bit. Hopefully it will be what they are looking for.  If not, I’ll send it to Barking Sycamores and try to get into their journal again.  I titled it “Why I Keep My Nails Short”.  I hope it works out.

Had a conference on my writing last night and got a lot of good feedback.  I just need to decide what I want to do with the thing.  I’m really confused about what to do. I have a video conference set up with my teacher next week to talk about it.  The feedback was a little conflicting–focus the piece, zoom in more on particular instances, expand it in places, but gosh you are throwing so much at the reader at the same time.

But I’m most gratified that the criticism didn’t throw me off balance. I am not doubting myself and my skills, just know that it needs revising to do what I want to do.  I just feel really good about what I am doing and how it is working out.   And how fast time is flying.  It’s March already?  Really?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

