Visiting the School

So yesterday  I went to see where I’ll be working.  Started moving early so I could gauge the traffic and get there and back early.  I took a GPS and could have found the college without it but had trouble finding the main gate.  I finally found it then drove past the building at least twice before I worked out where I was going. I finally found a parking lot then had to hike to the building.

But I walked in at exactly the time the head of the department of English so it was fortuitous that I got goofed around getting there. I recognized him from the website and introduced myself and all.  I got a tour of the department and a copy of the four-inch- thick book I’ll be teaching out of.  It’s a monster.  But It has most of the authors in it that I planned to teach so that is good. I get an office with other adjuncts and a mailbox this time so that is nice.

I’m really excited about doing this.  I hope I can do it.  I think it’s a good sign that I had the initiative to go our and hunt this down–shows that I’m not depressed and wanting to sit at home all the time.  I just hope I can do school with it too. But I’m not scared–I’m looking forward to it all.  My remission seems to be holding together, so we will see.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

