“Venture City”

So today is the day we’ve been working towards for the  Classroom City project in my youngest child’s gifted class.  She is selling “sea charms”–bits of clay with either shell imprints or round gems  pressed into the  clay.  We installed her storefront last night and this morning I attended the opening ceremonies and took pictures of her “business” and others of her friends’ businesses.  81 children in her grade are participating.  That’s a lot of kids to organize and get creative with. So Kudos to her teachers for doing all the heavy lifting on their end.

This year is the third year we’ve done Venture City, and I was so hoping they wouldn’t still be doing it by the time Rachel got to fifth grade.  But they are and so we participated to be best of our ability. My youngest’s storefront is a lawnmower box from Bob’ s office with the bottom cut out and set up on one end.   She painted it sea and sand colors with bright orange and hot pink accents.  Black lettering and trim.  Most of her help came from her sisters who had done it before and I was left to make suggestions and ideas rather than doing any actual work.  Which is exactly how I wanted it.  Less stress for me.

But after tomorrow we’re finished and can coast the rest of the year with classes and other things to do. So nice to be finished with it.

Otherwise it’s been an easy day–doing laundry, going to the grocery store, and  Candy and Christy come and clean.  I’ll do more laundry this afternoon and cook supper too.Nothing too complicated for right now.  (I remember when that would have been a complicated day.  Not that long ago, either.). But I’m better now and just hope I can keep the stability going through the end of the school year and the start of summer. I’m looking forward to my new class this summer in 20th Century Drama and my class this fall in Forms of Nonfiction.

Hope everyone has a good rest of the week.

 

Leave a Reply

