Post-vacation

Had a good session with my counselor today.  Talked about our vacation and how that went–it was relatively stress free and how that was a good thing.  Vacations in the past have often put me in mild depressive states because the preparation all fell on me and I was responsible for so much.  But now the kids are old enough to manage so many things for themselves so preparation and traveling are not nearly as stressful for me as they have been in the past.

We went over my concerns about being in the MFA program–the initial euphoria has worn off and I’m starting to try to look at it realistically.  We talked about the time I’d be spending on campus, the expectations of the program, the need to file papers with the disability office, etc.  I still feel confident that I’m doing the right thing for myself; I’m just starting to realize how much the program is going to demand from me in a  way I haven’t experienced in a long time.  I’m glad I gave up teaching to do it because I think it’s going to take up a lot of my time.  Which is only right.  If you want the degree and all that goes with it, you have to put in the work.

2 thoughts on “Post-vacation

Leave a Reply

